Fresh air will do you some good hunny!

Phew, what a week! I was on the go every minute, working, exercising, seeing friends, working, working, working. I woke up this morning and was drained but had lots of grading to get done and lesson plans to prepare. I was miserable all morning… sulking at my desk… definitely not being as productive as I could’ve been. So, I took a break and went grocery shopping. The sunshine was amazing and my skin yearned to soak it in. I dropped into a natural food store and picked up some vega one protein powder. I used to drink this daily and really miss it. I figured with the amount of exercise I’ve been doing, I should probably get back into this habit. It came with a free blender bottle 🙂

IMG_5382

I couldn’t stop there, when I got home I hurried to put the groceries away and jumped on my bike for an afternoon ride. I came home refreshed and ready to conquer the rest of my work.

Spring is in the air hunny! And I am so excited!

Here’s my food exploration for this week…

Yesterday was a friend’s going away party. He and his wife are moving out of state for new jobs, so we decided to throw them a party that would be filled with lovely treats from our city and our state. Which of course included garbage plates… I haven’t had a plate in probably 5 years now, but one never forgets how they are.

My dear friend and I inquired and created our very own vegan garbage plates…

IMG_5371

Included is lentil burger (made from this recipe), sweet potato salad (sweet potatoes mashed with fresh red bell pepper, celery, some cardamom, garlic, salt, and vegan mayonnaise– made from this recipe), and vegan macaroni and cheese made with a cashew cheese sauce. Delicious!

This week’s weather is going to begin warming up, so I wanted to keep my cooking for the week on the lighter side. No crockpot or soup recipes anymore! I’m eating salads, salads, salads!

Here’s my newest salad that I’m really excited about…

Asian Cabbage Salad

1/2 head of organic cabbage, shredded

1 cup carrots, processed

1/2 green beans, coarsely chopped

1/4 red onion, coarsely chopped

1/2 seedless cucumber, sliced

large handful of cilantro, chopped

*These above ingredients are tossed in a spicy peanut dressing that I made… I tossed in the food processor- 2 cloves garlic, small piece of ginger, 3 tbs olive oil, 3 tbs apple cider vinegar, 1 tbs lime juice, 1/3 cup homemade peanut butter, a dash of honey, a dash of Sriracha, and a dash of aminos liquid.

Ta-da!

IMG_5386

This salad is so good!

For breakfast this week… I’m going to enjoy this apple banana nut quinoa & oat bake. If you’re a normal reader, you know how I make these already – toss in whatever nuts, fruit, and grains, with cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger — bake at 350 for about 30 minutes. I love this warmed with cold almond milk on top in the am!

Happy warm weather this week!

IMG_5384

One thought on “Fresh air will do you some good hunny!”

Leave a Reply

