Welcome Home!

Tomorrow will be my first day teaching in my school’s home building. I’ve been working tiredly on my classroom to make it feel like home & I can’t wait for my students to see it in the morning. I probably won’t sleep a minute, too excited in anticipation.

I wanted to share some of my most recent food creations. Two weeks ago I made some millet – most commonly found in bird seed (seriously!), a non-gluten whole grain. It has 11 grams of protein and 6 grams of fiber per 1/2 cup serving… pretty intense! You cook it just like a rice – 1 cup grain to 2 cups boiling water, lower heat to medium low and simmer until all water is absorbed. It looks like this when done… nice and fluffy and yummy! 🙂

So, what do you do with it? Basically anything. I like to add it to my salads to increase the protein content. Here’s a Greek salad I made that I’ve also prepped for this week because it was so addicting and I want it in my mouth every day!

Millet Greek Salad:

*massaged kale (with apple cider vinegar)

*cucumbers

*tomatoes

*chickpeas

*red onion

*fennel

*avocado

*millet

*sheep’s milk feta

*cilantro

Doesn’t this look divine?! It surely is, you have to try it!

IMG_4987

Then, with left over millet that I cooked I tried something new — porridge. I warmed the millet up in a bowl, added almond milk, a little bit of maple syrup, cinnamon, and chia seeds. I let it sit for about 10 minutes and bam! Delicious thick porridge! The chia seeds soak up the milk and make this grain a delicious breakfast that keeps me full until lunch!

IMG_4988

I visited my dad in the Adirondacks this past week while on break from school. I made this salad for him and my stepmom one night…

Roasted Fennel & Apple Salad

*Roasted fennel, onion, and radishes — actually sauteed these in a tiny bit of coconut oil at a high heat in a frying pan.

*Thinly sliced an apple

*Arugula (underneath everything else so you can’t see it in the picture)

*Sheep’s milk feta cheese

*salt & pepper to taste

IMG_5016

So my one warm dish for the week —

Deconstructed Stuffed Peppers:

*1 lb ground turkey, sauteed with onion and garlic

*1 cup of red lentils cooked

*1 cup brown rice

*1 cup chopped mushrooms

*2 green peppers, largely chopped

*1 small sweet potato

*2 cups kale

*I sauteed all of the above vegetables, added in some thyme, sage, and a teeny bit of smoked paprika and cinnamon. Then tossed in the lentils, brown rice and a large can of stewed tomatoes. I let this slowly simmer together for about 30 minutes.

IMG_5112

I don’t know what it is about stuffed peppers, but they are one of my favorite comfort foods! Looking forward to this dish this week – going to be a cold one, again.

Stay warm ya’ll! Spring is coming, I hope…

I don’t

One thought on “Welcome Home!”

  1. Hi Lisa – it all looks good as usual. FYI – I’ve made “millet muffins” and they are pretty good. The millet adds a bit of light crunch to the muffins – very interesting texture, lol.

Leave a Reply

