To new friends!

My family is making the move this coming weekend. I am gleaming with excitement to drive up and help them unpack the new house! Cheers to all of the new friends that they will make in their new life. Cheers to all of my dad’s colleagues that may begin reading my blog as he shares it with them as part of the wellness committee 🙂

Friday night I joined a friend in some exploratory cooking with venison. We love our deer meat & we love our tacos! We have been wanting to create our own venison tacos for months now and we made it happen…

Venison & Vegetable Tacos!

*we sauteed peppers and onions, roasted radishes and fennel, cleaned some cilantro and made a cashew cream (1/2 cup cashews soaked in water for 1 hour and blended with additional water & lime juice).

*the venison was pan fried at a medium high heat to sear each side, temp lowered for about 4 mins, removed and thinly sliced.

Check these out! YUM! The lime in the cashew cream with the cilantro was a great latin flare to the game flavor of the venison. Something that I’ve never tried before. I will definitely spend more time playing around with venison tacos!

IMG_4775

For this week’s lunches – I’ve created a chili…

Curried Sweet Potato & Black Bean Chili

*2 medium sweet potatoes, peeled & cubed – pan fried in coconut oil

*2 small zucchinis – cubed and added to the pan with sweet potatoes

*handful of mini bell peppers, cleaned, and sliced

*4 cloves of garlic, minced

*spices: curry, cumin, and chili powder

I sauteed all of the above ingredients and then added them to 1 cup of black beans that had been cooked in the pressure cooker (20 mins on high pressure). I threw in some pearl onions, corn, and green beans that I had in the freezer and turned the pressure cooker back on for an additional 20 minutes.

IMG_4776IMG_4778

I’m looking forward to this chili this week with the cold temperatures that they are projecting. We sure are in winter now!

When I’m not eating the chili I will be enjoying fresh salads. I still have some more fennel, radishes, cucs, and cherry tomatoes to top off salads with balsamic vinegar and EVOO for dressing. Here’s a salad I made for dinner this past Friday night – also topped with left over jerk chicken that my boyfriend made for me earlier in the week. Delicious!!

IMG_4772 IMG_4739 IMG_4743

Leave a Reply

