Staying warm…

We finally got our first real snow fall! It was stressful when it came, thick, heavy, wet snow that piled up quickly and kept coming for two days, but it sure is beautiful on the trees πŸ™‚

During the snow filled, cold week- I spent time inside, reading. I read an article in a magazine about food and the luxuries we’ve all come to expect… decades ago our food came from local farmers and families ate seasonally. There was no such thing as processed foods and sushi in upstate NY. I know that I’m too young to have lived like this, but I find joy in thinking about what it would be like. I would say that my family is quite traditional with their cooking. Processed foods weren’t a huge thing in my household and my mothers always cooked a full meal with meat, potatoes, and vegetables. In the summer time we ate fresh salads and green beans. In the winter time, more soups, stews, and casseroles.

After reading this article and reminiscing of my own childhood and my fictitious past life in the early 1900’s I vowed to myself that I would try my best to eat seasonal local foods for the rest of this winter. So, here’s my first stab at it…

I went to the public market Saturday morning and bought: butternut squash, spaghetti squash, carrots, beets and Asian pears. My fridge is fully stocked with winter wonderful foods. I instantly roasted both of the squashes and my mind wandered about recipes.

Warm Quinoa & Butternut Squash Salad

1 cup red quinoa, cooked

1/2 butternut squash, cubed and roasted with olive oil (@ 425 degrees)

3 beets, cubed and roasted

1 cup brussel sprouts, quartered & roasted

1/2 cup cranberries (roasted)

*I seasoned with pepper and fresh minced garlic and tossed all of the vegetables together with the quinoa. I plan on eating this over salad greens or just alone for lunches this week. A bit of goat cheese on top won’t hurt either πŸ™‚

*This morning I warmed the salad in a frying pan along with two eggs, it was delicious.

IMG_4555 IMG_4556

Spaghetti

1 spaghetti squash roasted at 350 degrees for 2 hours

Wegman’s Grandpa’s sauce goes vegetarian

1 head Broccoli, separated

*For dinner tonight I heated the spaghetti squash in a frying pan along with fresh broccoli and my favorite tomato sauce. This heart warming and so very simply dish will keep me happy this week for dinner that’s for sure!

IMG_4559IMG_4560

The other half of butternut squash I roasted whole and I am going to experiment this week with baking some sweet treats with it. Not sure exactly what yet, but if whatever I make turns out good I’ll post it!

Leave a Reply

