True Happiness

I write to you tonight in true happiness. My life is good, it’s really good. I just spend a full week with my boyfriend, loving every minute being in his presence and creating memories together. We spent my birthday weekend in NYC, where I was able to meet his father, fall absolutely in love with him, and see my best friend from college. This weekend, I graciously enjoyed my four day weekend in remembrance of our veterans. I spent time embracing my freedom as an American, having the ability to do whatever I please in that very moment. Like going for a two hour walk today with a friend on the boardwalk of the Genesee River… yes there is such a thing. Like driving around the city with the top down, hair blowing in the air, sun kissing my checks and brisk air chilling my lungs. Freedom. Happiness. Bliss.

IMG_4348

Anxiously awaiting school tomorrow morning, I find myself in bed, at 8 o’clock, writing this blog, checking things off of my do-to list, and hoping to fall asleep quickly. Three day week, but a long three days ahead. Lunch tomorrow whistles to me, hey, Lisa, come here, come and get this delicious stew.

Yup, stew. Venison stew. My body aches for homemade food as its endured restaurant cooking for the past week. Joyful enduring, of course, but still, unnatural at times causing stomach growls. Meat you ask… yes. I know, I need to cleanse, maybe next week. For now, the weather is going to change from 68 degrees to 42 degrees in the matter of 12 hours and I need warmth. I need stew.

Backwoods Venison Stew (in the pressure cooker)

*2 pds venison stew meat (shot in the backwoods of my hometown, thanks to my dad and bro)

*1 pd red potatoes, quartered

*1 cup frozen pearl onions

*1 cup frozen green beans

*1/2 cup carrots, sliced and quartered

*3 cloves garlic, minced

*1 container vegetable stock

*2 tbs tomato paste

*sage, thyme, rosemary, pepper, salt, smoked paprika

The venison was browned on a medium high heated frying pan and searing for about 2 minutes in total. I then added this to the pressure cooker pot with the rest of the ingredients, all raw. Stirred everything together and placed the lid on the cooker. I set the timer on high pressure for 20 minutes. The beeper went off, 10 minutes later (allowing for natural release of pressure), I opened the lid and BAM! BAM! BAM!

IMG_4345 IMG_4346  IMG_4344

BAM! Delicious venison stew. My mouth is watering right now just thinking about this for lunch tomorrow. Again, I anxiously wait. YUMMMM!

One thought on “True Happiness”

Leave a Reply

