Fall warmth

All of the leaves have fallen off my trees out back, my lawn is covered and crunches as I walk across to my garden. Fall is definitely here and I need soup!

I realized that the three dishes I made last week was just too much. I got sick of them by yesterday and ending up tossing some of the stuff out. I even brought the butternut squash soup to a dinner at my friend’s house! So, I’ve learned that I need to keep myself to a one or two dish minimum. This week I’ve made one soup for myself. I have a dinner party tomorrow night, tutoring Tuesday and my boyfriend comes back into town toward the end of the week, so really this will be lunches and maybe one or two dinners at home.

Fall Harvest Minestrone!

1 container of vegetable stock, organic

2 small zucchini, halved and thickly sliced

1/2 onion, sliced

4 small carrots (from my garden) sliced

2 stalks celery, sliced

a handful of asparagus sprigs, chopped

a handful of tuscan kale (from my garden)

a few mushrooms, quartered

1 red potato (cause I needed to use it up)

2 cans of stewed tomatoes

1 can black eyed peas

1 can garbanzo beans

4 cloves garlic, minced

“parsley, sage, rosemary, and thyme”

*I threw everything into my crockpot and let it cook down for 4 hours.

IMG_4235 IMG_4236 IMG_4237

So fresh and yummy! I look forward to warming up this week with this delicious soup!

Leave a Reply

