My new favorite toy…

So I’ve had my grill for just about a month now & it truly has become my new favorite toy. I love grilling. Every day. Love it.

My staples for grilling have become the same primary vegetables – portobello mushroom, asparagus, zucchini, bell peppers, and eggplant. I toss them with balsamic vinegar, olive oil, and my dad’s red rub (mixture of cayenne pepper, garlic, onion, etc) and some dried rosemary and thyme.

I eat them all week for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. No, seriously. Grilled vegetables tossed in a frying pan with an egg – oh yes!

Also – peaches and pineapple. If you haven’t tried it yet, you need to, right now. Go to the store immediately if you don’t have them on hand, fire up the grill, smear the fruit with coconut oil & toss them on there. The sweetness of the fruit really comes out when they’re grilled, amazing!

So obviously because I’ve been eating these same vegetables for all three meals in my day I’m starting to get sick of them in particular. So this weekend I mixed it up a bit. Last night my friend was over for dinner and I did a fun appetizer – cibatta bread grilled and topped with fresh bruschetta. For the bruschetta I used two tomatoes (from the public market), a slice of a red onion, 2 cloves garlic, and a handful of fresh lemon basil (from my herb garden). OMG! So simple, so fresh, so very delicious… especially onto of grilled bread.

photo 1-1photo 4-1

Also while at the market on Saturday morning I picked up my all time favorite vegetable. Scapes! Scapes are the top of garlic when they are sprouting flower stalks from the bulb in the spring. They are super long and curly. They have a mild or bold garlic flavor and a chewy texture similar to asparagus. Scapes are high in fiber, vitamin C and vitamin A as well as phytochemicals and antioxidants linked to apoptosis (programmed cell death) of some cancer cells.

garlic-scapes

You can eat these raw, sauteed, pickled, or made into a pesto. I like them best on the grill. I don’t put anything on them, just toss them on – be careful of any loose ones falling until the grill plates. They grill very quickly, so I stand and flip them frequently.

I also tried beets. I have seen recipes for beet burgers before where you literally roast a beet, slice it and eat it like a burger. So I thought to myself – why not grill them! I cut off the greens, washed and sauteed them with dandelion greens, onion and garlic to make this — which I will enjoy with eggs for breakfast this week.

photo 1photo 2

Then for the beets – washed, skinned, boiled for about 15 minutes – to the point where they were just starting to get softened. I took them out of the water, let them cool & sliced in half. I tossed them in olive oil and cracked pepper & threw them on the grill.

photo

Oh yeah babe. These things are amazing. Not sure why I never thought of this before. The grill gives them that slight smoky flavor and crispy charred outside – yum! For dinner tonight I had one of these, scapes and a turkey sausage link over lettuce from my garden with horseradish dijon mustard on the side for dipping. Yum!

photo 4photo 5

Best part of today – my neighbors. As I was grilling the beets and scapes they were very fascinated. Not knowing what scapes were, I clearly educated them and had them try them once I had them grilled. They all really liked them and plan on going out a getting some for themselves.

My name is Lisa and I’m going to make a change in the world. Each baby step at a time is good enough for me. Having my neighbors trying new vegetables is a high five for sure! 🙂

Leave a Reply

