As the storm rolls in

Tonight I write my blog post as I sit in front of the window and watch the rain pour down & the thunder boom. Growing up as a kid, thunderstorms were always my favorite thing to watch. To see the lightening spark across the sky and listen to the intricate tones of thunder. It’s relaxing to me for whatever reason.

For this week I created two new salads/ salad toppers. I was going to grill some vegetables as well but I didn’t get my cooking on in time before the storm hit, so I’ll have to do those tomorrow.

Salad #1 – Mediterranean Salad

1 cucumber, quartered and sliced

1 cup cherry tomatoes, cut in half

1/2 red onion, diced

a handful of kalamata olives, sliced

1 handful of parsley, chopped

fresh cracked black pepper

*Mix everything together in a bowl

photo 1

*Dressing: 1 tbs olive oil, 2 tbs red wine vinegar, 2 cloves minced garlic, 1/2 lime juiced

photo 2

There’s a local greek restaurant and they make a salad very similar to this tossed with romaine — it’s delicious & I can’t wait to see it this week. It’s getting hotter and hotter out so my lunches become lighter and lighter. Time for salads 🙂

Salad #2- Kale & Brussel Sprouts

2 cups brussel sprouts

2 cups kale

*Process them both in ninja

1/2 cup almond, chopped

*Toss those together with greens

*Dressing: 3 tbs horseradish brown seeded mustard, 1 tbs balsamic vinegar, 1 tbs olive oil, black pepper

*Very basic salad here – but the flavors burst in your mouth 🙂

photo 3photo 4

For dinners this week – grilling, obviously. And also I bought some dandelions for the first time ever — so thinking of making some sauteed with mushrooms and onions. Whatever I do, I will be sure to post it for next week.

Happy sunshine!

Leave a Reply

