I am woman, hear me roar!

Happy Memorial Day! Thank you to all the women and men who have fought for our freedom. We are able to enjoy this beautiful weather this weekend because of the thousands who have sacrificed, and that’s something that we always need to remember and cherish.

This weekend was one for the books – that’s for sure. My beautiful mother came out Friday afternoon and stayed for the weekend with me. Friday we pampered ourselves with haircuts, a new hair dye for her – I took her back to her natural color from the typical highlights I’ve been doing, a fully satisfying vegan dinner, and a movie.

photo 1-3

My favorite vegan restaurant – we both got a compost plate with lentil burger – my mouth is watering right now just thinking about it. All of the food is amazing at this place but I can’t help but order the same thing every time. The flavors of the mac salad, sweet potato salad and lentil burger all compliment each other in an explosion of flavor in your mouth. It’s insane.

We both fell asleep during the movie and woke up just behind the sun rise Saturday morning & we were off! After a yummy vegetable hash breakfast with fresh fruit we ran to the market to pick up some fresh vegetables for the week, plants for the garden, and hanging plants that my mom took home with her πŸ™‚

photo 3-3

We continued on to antique shops, garage sales, Ollies, and Home Depot to shop for furniture and nick nacks for my apartment. I’ve been here for 3 months now and I still don’t have a couch, kitchen table, pantry, or let alone things hanging on the walls. We got a few things – beautiful hand painted pictures, a green vintage banker’s desk lamp, and the most important — my new grill & patio set!

I feel like a grown woman now for sure. Check out how we were able to fit everything in the back of my ford focus. The men at home depot didn’t think we would be able to do it, my mom even doubted me, but “I am woman, hear me roar!”

photo 4-2photo 5-2

Only women have the mindset to figure things like this out – especially using flip flops to protect the glass window from breaking. Ha! Later on Sunday I got everything set up in my backyard. I’ve enjoyed laying in my anti-gravity chair and working at my patio table in the shade.

photo 1-2photo 5-1photo 1-1photo 2-1photo 3-1

After a long day of shopping, my mom and I went to a local Mexican joint and had some yummy margaritas and dinner. We rushed to the mall for the last two hours before closing, unsuccessfully finding new blouses for work, and called it a night. Phew, what a weekend!

photo 2-2photo 3-2photo 4-1

Today I spent the day preparing three different types of vegan burgers for grilling. All three are my own recipes (inspiration from Pinterest, obviously).

1. Curry Sweet Potato & Black Bean Burger

  • 2 medium sweet potatoes, peeled & cubed
  • 1/2 cup red onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tbs curry powder
  • 2 tsp tumeric powder
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1 cup cooked red quinoa
  • 1 cup black beans, cooked
  • flax egg (4 tbs flax seed with 1/2 cup water)

*I mixed all ingredients in my ninja storm (food processor) and added a little bit of coconut oil.

photo 4

*Chilled in fridge for 30 minutes, then 1 large scoop for each patty.

*Patties in freezer for 1 hour until very firm, then packaged individually in plastic freezer bags.

2. Smokey Beet Burger

  • 2 large beets, peeled & cubed
  • 1/2 red onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 1/2 cups red lentils (cooked down in Cajun seasonings)
  • 1 cup brown rice, cooked
  • 2 tbs brown seeded mustard
  • 1/2 tsp smoked paprika
  • 1 tsp dried thyme
  • 1/2 tsp fennel seeds
  • 1/2 tsp ginger powder

*I mixed all ingredients in my ninja storm (food processor).

photo 5

*Chilled in fridge for 30 minutes, then 1 large scoop for each patty.

*Patties in freezer for 1 hour until very firm, then packaged individually in plastic freezer bags.

3. Spicy Green Power Burger (contains gluten)

  • 3 kale leaves, chopped
  • 1 small zucchini, chopped
  • 1 cup diced asparagus
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 red onion, chopped
  • 1 cup red lentils (cooked down in Cajun seasonings)
  • 3/4 cup brown rice, cooked
  • 1/2 cup whole grain oats
  • 1 tbs Sriracha sauce

*I mixed all ingredients in my ninja storm (food processor).

photo 1

*Chilled in fridge for 30 minutes, then 1 large scoop for each patty.

*Patties in freezer for 1 hour until very firm, then packaged individually in plastic freezer bags.

Very excited to enjoy these for the first few weeks of summer! When I have friends over I can easily offer them choices for their veggie burger with them individually packaged like this.

photo 2-4

I of course had to sample each of these on the grill tonight to make sure they were good — and they were! The sweet potato burger feel apart much easier than the other two – the quinoa is much drier than brown rice and I think this made a huge difference for binding (even with the flax eggs – which didn’t seem to do much at all).

photo 3-5 photo 4-3 photo 5-3 photo 1-4

I also made some grilled veggies to top on salads for the week at school.

photo 2-5

I am jumping up and down in excitement for the summer now that I have my backyard all set up for entertaining! Yay! 23 days left of school — but who’s counting? πŸ™‚

 

Leave a Reply

