Inevitable and optional

“Being challenged is inevitable, being defeated is optional.”

BC3YX20CcAExxLn.jpg_large

I came across the above quote this afternoon when on my pinterest, doing my normal routine of searching for new recipe ideas, diy house ideas and fitness routines. Sadly, its been weeks since I’ve been to the gym… since my trip to Florida to be exact, so a month. I deleted that last sentence about five times before making myself keep it. I have felt defeated the last few weeks. School has been busy and the students have been squirrely and I’ve felt weak, not in control. Sleeping more than ever and letting the smallest things bring me down.

I mean, who am I kidding? I’m sure many people would have loved to be me this week — being filmed along with my students and colleagues by a national education foundation — whom is making a short resource video on our school. And on top of that being asked by the director to interview for an additional video they are working on as an expert practitioner critical of the stereotype theory and its impacts on student learning. I felt honored and amazing in the moment and still feel that way, but my body doesn’t. Being away from the gym has made me feel so sluggish and being so busy at school has made my eating habits not so great.

So, I am challenging myself today – to start fresh. Summer is upon us and I am so excited for the endless possibilities I will have. This is my first summer not working and I’m looking forward to having free time to exercise, DIY,  garden, and travel 🙂 I need to get me back into working order, mind, body, and soul.

At the grocery store today I stocked up on fresh fruit – pineapple, cantaloupe, apples, and strawberries for snacks before the gym after work. I also bought lots of greens! Broccoli, kale, beet greens, arugula and spring mix. This week I’m going to load up on my green vegetables the right way – raw!

Cooking anything strips the food of nutrients. Heat breaks down chemical bonds between vitamins, minerals, proteins, sugars, etc. Therefore, eating vegetables and fruits raw, with the skin (where all the fiber is!) allows for optimum nutrient intake.

Other than fresh salads and fruit for lunches this week I’m going to indulge in this powerful green stew:

1/2 red onion, 3 cloves garlic, 1/4 cup chopped carrot, 3 small sweet peppers chopped: sauteed in 1 tbs coconut oil.

Added to the vegetable stock- 1 zucchini, quartered and sliced, 2 cups beet greens, 2 cups kale, 1 can garbanzo beans, 1 can crushed tomatoes and a large amount of fresh cracked black pepper.

I put the lid on this and let simmer for 30 minutes and all of the flavors became a marriage of deliciousness!

photo 5photo 4

I also made some homemade peanut butter for snacking and breakfast (in my oatmeal or smoothie). And I roasted some of my broccoli and some baby bella mushrooms to add to salads.

photo 2

Here’s my dinner tonight alongside 2 huge glasses of water after workout #1 which consisted of legs, arms and abs. Tomorrow I will hit the gym and get back into the game! Watch out world, here I come!

photo 1

Leave a Reply

