Happy Mother’s Day!

So, I got in my car right at 3:10 after school on Friday and I hit the road. I was exhausted from the week so I stopped and grabbed an iced soy mocha on the way from Starbucks (won a gift card this week for teacher appreciation…whoop!) and headed home to my mommy!

Friday night we had fresh walleye for dinner – caught by my very own mother dearest and stepdad – who grumbled with the way I prepared it. I lightly oiled the fish and topped it with freshly minced garlic, thinly sliced lemon, and cracked black pepper.

My mom and I also made roasted portobello mushrooms topped with leeks and tomato with roasted asparagus. Oh my, was this dish as to die for as it looks. My mouth is watering just thinking about how great it was.

photo 3-2

photo 1-2

photo 2-2

 

Saturday morning for breakfast was homemade buckwheat date pancakes. My mom found this recipe a while ago, something that my stepdad enjoys so she made them for us. Literally – 1 cup dates, 1.5 cups almond milk, 1.5 cups buckwheat flour, 1 tsp baking soda and cinnamon. WHOA!!! You’ve GOT to be kidding me! Look at how fluffy these things turned out without any egg or dairy! YUM! YUM! YUM! These are for sure a keeper in the recipe book for generations to come πŸ™‚

photo 4-1

Oh and my momma also made this – sweet potato kale casserole. Nice a sweet flavor with the savory bitter kale. Great to munch on even for a snack or lunch! And why yes, a fresh fruit bowl too! Berries were on sale at tops this week so my mom stocked up… she is a woman after my own heart, clearly.

photo 2-1Β Β  photo 5-1

For dinner Saturday we kept it simple because Sunday afternoon was the Mother’s day party. Fresh ground turkey burgers with kale and red peppers. I had just talked with my friend about veggie burgers and how I was hesitant to get into making them because I don’t want to eat the bread – she reminded me of a trick I’ve done before, just use lettuce leaves! Duh!

We dressed our turkey burgers with an garlic avocado cream sauce – did two cloves of garlic and boy was it zingy! Next time I’d probably just do one as it did take over the flavors of the burger. Stay tuned for veggie burger 101 this summer – it’s so going to be my thing πŸ™‚

photo 1-1

Happy Mother’s Day! Sunday morning came real quick and I had already indulged so much in my mom’s cooking and cooking with her – it was my turn. Sadly I did not perform as well, but my bf will tell you that my mom’s a better cook anyway. I tried a pinterest recipe – baked portobello eggs. I’ve done baked eggs before and I was reminded as to how silly it is to make these. See, when I eat eggs (about once a week), I like a runny yolk… not running all over the plate or down your hand, but soft and runny enough to have a little liquid to mix in with veggies. So, when you bake eggs – there’s no such thing as a runny yolk. Runny whites, yes. Gross! I had to bake mine longer because it still had uncooked whites. Anyway, I topped them with rosemary, thyme and black pepper. The flavors were great. Mushroom could’ve been cooked longer – so next time I would cook the mushroom first and then add the egg. I also made a red potato, kale and broccoli hash with some left over turkey burger mixed in. All of which was anti-climatic, but my mom was pleased which is all that matters πŸ™‚

photo 4

photo 3

Here’s to all the wonderful mother’s out there that raise their daughters to be such independent, successful, beautiful women. I am blessed to have my mom. She is my rock and I don’t know where I would be without her in my life. Love you momma!

photo 2

“I am strong and wise and I know no fear”.

Oh and random, but TOO FUNNY… my grandfather is a lifelong dairy farmer. Yeah. Again, let me remind you that I drank milk and ate cheese with every meal for my entire life until two years ago. When I made the change he took it personal at first but after chatting about the research I had studied and how much better my body felt afterwards he did what any grandparent would, he hugged me and supported me. Anyways, here’s his bumper sticker on his car… typical πŸ™‚

photo 1

Leave a Reply

