Que comemos

I’m writing this blog as my bf teaches himself spanish, therefore the title for this week. My sincere apologies for not writing last week – we were off from school and I was too busy enjoying time back in my hometown with family. That sounded more prude than I meant for it to. But, really, I get to see family about four times a year now… so when I’m there, I’m all there.

My time at home was very joyous – full of laughter and good food, as always. I of course did not take pictures of everything I ate while at home, but just a taste – I had roasted turkey with root vegetables. cashew cream shrimp alfredo with broccoli, cowboy caviar (this amazing bean salad that my mom makes that I love oh so much), my mom’s famous egg white omelets with kale and veggies, venison sliders, and Caribbean spicy chicken with rice and beans, and fried plantains while out to lunch with my bestie Rose – the only pictures of food I took while home. All of my pictures are of family and my DIY projects I worked on with my amazing step daddy.

IMG_1400IMG_1390IMG_1411IMG_1424

IMG_1413 IMG_1414 IMG_1419

This week is going to be absolutely crazy with the move coming next weekend, Howie in town, magazine deadline for school, and continuing planning for our exhibition night – only a few short weeks away – oh jeeze, the chest pain increases in intensity as I write this. Gah! All wonderful things, happy things, successful things, but just a lot going on at once causes that all too known stress chest pain.

So anyways, for this week – on Saturday I made this:

Turkey sausage and kale soup, amaze-balls. A HUGE pot of it too, for lunches, dinners, and to share with friends. I started with a large onion, and 6 cloves of garlic (sounds like a lot, I know, but it’s needed!), and water. Sautéed these down and added 1/2 of it to the cooked down turkey sausage (super lean protein, no bovine, delicious when cooked down with sage, thyme, and rosemary – oh god, the singing commences). The other 1/2 I set aside to puree with the other vegetables – a trick my step mom taught me years ago and my friend Jess writes about in her blog when making her sausage and kale soup – which I stole the ideas from :) PS- Happy birthday this week Jess!! Okay, so next up I added one container of vegetable stock to the pot with sausage and onions and garlic, sliced 3 small white potatoes super thin and added those in. Then sautéed mushrooms, again 1/2 in soup, 1/2 in blender. A small head of broccoli, 1/2 head of cauliflower, 1/2 stack of asparagus, cup of carrots, and two large sweet potatoes diced (all steamed first and then added to save on cooking time) and about 3 cups of baby kale all added into the pot. Pureed the cooked vegetables (broccoli stalks, asparagus stalks, onion, garlic, sweet potato, and mushroom) and added to pot for thickening. Slowly boiled for about 2 hours and Bam! Delicious soup that will last me and the neighborhood all week :)

IMG_1440 IMG_1444

Today for breakfast – turkey bacon, scrambled eggs, potato hash with garlic and onions, and fresh fruit (strawberries, pineapple and banana) for my love and I before heading out running errands for the day. Presentation is key – plated in the kitchen and my man walks in with a big smile on his face, “I hope you’re going to blog about this!” Of course, my love, of course.

IMG_1442

Then later on tonight I made this broccoli salad that I’ve made before and blogged about. I made it Thursday at Rach’s house – her and her hubby loved it oh so much because we added turkey bacon and horseradish – so I did that tonight too.

2 heads broccoli, 2 avocados, 3 scallions, 1 lemon (juiced & zested), 2 slices turkey bacon (chopped) and a few tbs of fresh horseradish. TO DIE FOR! So delicious!!

IMG_1462 IMG_1461

Even though I have plenty of soup for the week, I know I’ll still be cooking other things – so in the fridge I’ve got portobello mushrooms (for roasting with goat cheese and balsamic tomatoes – inspired by Bacco’s dinner I had with my love a few months ago), salad greens and baby kale, and obviously a huge bag of bok choy for sautéing with mushrooms and Asian sauces :)

Check back next week – hopefully I’ll have time to blog about my new apartment and the first time cooking there! So excited I could scream… ok, maybe I really did scream. Like that little girl screech and everything, love it!

Leave a Reply

